Skip to content

Contract award record

GB-Edinburgh: Refurbishment and Upgrade of Corsewall Lighthouse

Tender value £500,000

Notice details

Published
Category
works
Buyer region
Not specified

Public buyer and contract winner

awarded to

Contract winner

Contract winner not disclosed

Award valueNot disclosed

  1. Start
    Completed
  2. End
    Completed

Work description

Corsewall Lighthouse, Built in 1817, is Grade A Listed. The station is currently designated as road access for routine maintenance and Major works. The last major refurbishment occurred in 1994, with last Revenue Re-paint in 2014. The current AtoN is a Cat 1 Light with a 22 nautical mile range.

The scope of the proposed Major upgrade project is summarised as follows: retain the existing Range and first order, Rotating Fresnel lens & mechanical bearing, replacing the existing light source with LED GRAD unit, controls, battery and monitoring with modern equivalents. Lightning & earthing infrastructure to be tested and upgraded as appropriate. Repairs required to masonry spiral stair & plasterwork, together with full redecoration internally & externally (including replacement of floor coverings as required). Cathodic Protection is proposed for cast iron window frames and other metalwork prone to corrosion. Investigate improvements to tower ventilation. Inspect all flat roofs & carry out repairs as required. Inspect & repair pointing to masonry of tower walls & balcony corbel. Various items of mitigation works are also proposed in connection with planned public access to the lighthouse (i.e. anti-climb measures & cable lay-overs on the tower balcony & rotating machinery encasement in the watch room etc).

A mandatory site visit is planned for 11/06/2024 Tender return deadline is 12/07/2024 Proposed works start date is 12/08/2024

Additional information: The contracting authority considers that this contract may be suitable for economic operators that are small or medium enterprises (SMEs). However, any selection of tenderers will be based solely on the criteria set out for the procurement.

Related awards

Source: Contracts Finder · Notice 63596703-f4d2-43f9-9d1e-3abdc23dead3-755947

View source notice